FOOSA to give the first public musical performance at Fresno State in over a year

Conductor Thomas Loewenheim leads the 2021 string orchestra during rehearsal

The Fresno Summer Academy Orchestra (FOOSA) is back after a one-year hiatus at 8 p.m. Saturday, June 26, in the Fresno State Concert Hall. Conductor Thomas Loewenheim leads a stellar string orchestra in a lush, romantic program full of passionate works from the early 20th century for the first public music performance at Fresno State since March 2020. 

The romantic program includes:

  • Sergei Lyapunov, Piano Sextet in B-Flat Minor, Op. 63
  • Ernest Bloch, Concerto Grosso No. 1 for string orchestra with piano obbligato 
  • Manuel De Falla , ‘El Amor Brujo’ (for sextet(1926)): Pantomima & Danza ritual del fuego

The Piano Sextet by Sergei Lyapunov is like listening to a symphonic work by Tchaikovsky or Rachmaninoff, even though the orchestral forces are capacity-limited to 20 string players and a piano. Dr. Loewenheim describes the third movement of this work as “to-die-for beautiful.” 

Advanced tickets are free, and the community is invited to attend. Seating capacity is limited, and masks are required for performers and the audience. 

Posted by

The College of Arts and Humanities provides a diverse student population with the communication skills, humanistic values and cultural awareness that form the foundation of scholarship. The college offers intellectual and artistic programs that engage students and faculty and the community in collaboration, dialog and discovery. These programs help preserve, illuminate and nourish the arts and humanities for the campus and for the wider community.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.