Symphony Orchestra’s Spotlight on Students

Symphony Orchestra’s Spotlight on Students
The next Symphony Orchestra concert, titled Spotlight on the Students, features a student composer with world premiere and the winner of the Fresno State Concerto Competition. It is at 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 25 in the Fresno State Concert Hall.

Student composer Alexander Bianco will present the world premiere of his composition “Goliaths Stumble.”

Cellist Kelvin Diaz-Inoa, winner of the Fresno State Concerto Competition, will perform Antonín Dvořák’s “Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104.”  The orchestra, under the direction of Music Professor Dr. Thomas Loewenheim, will close the concert with one of the literature’s greatest symphonic works, Johannes Brahms’ Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73.

When asked about his new composition, Bianco wrote:

“The title ‘Goliaths Stumble’ was added to my composition retroactively. It is ambiguous to an extent, in that it could be interpreted as the parable of David and Goliath having some use as a program for the music. It could also be thought of as having to do with a modern interpretation of the word goliath. There are many ‘goliaths’ that exist in today’s society, from governments to celebrities, and this piece may speak to how they might rise and fall as well.”

Bianco is a composition student at California State University Fresno studying under Dr. Benjamin Boone, Dr. Ken Froelich and Dr. Brad Hufft. His interest in composition began after studying music history and theory in high school.

Kelvin Diaz-Inoa is an accomplished cellist who has a rich experience as soloist, chamber musician and orchestral player. He was born in 1995 in San Juan Puerto Rico, and began his studies at age 7 through the Youth Orchestra of San Juan. He is completing his undergraduate degree at Fresno State with Loewenheim.

Diaz Inoa has won numerous awards, including first place in the senior division of American String Teachers Association at the local and state level in October.

Tickets for the concert are $15 general, $10 for seniors and $5 for students. Details are available at



Posted by

The College of Arts and Humanities provides a diverse student population with the communication skills, humanistic values and cultural awareness that form the foundation of scholarship. The college offers intellectual and artistic programs that engage students and faculty and the community in collaboration, dialog and discovery. These programs help preserve, illuminate and nourish the arts and humanities for the campus and for the wider community.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.