Clendenin Brass Quintet to perform

Fresno State’s scholarship brass ensemble, the Clendenin Brass Quintet, will perform at 8 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 30, in the Fresno State Concert Hall.

The Quintet will perform a lively and varied program of works of Tomaso Albinoni, Ingolf Dahl, Victor Ewald, Ben Monder, Richard Strauss and Inon Zur.

Members of the quintet are: Ryan Vance and Alexia Vargas, trumpet; Anthony Perez, horn; Andrew Watkins, trombone; and Daniel Larsen, tuba. The quintet will be joined by Jonathan Grant, trombone, for a brass sextet by Dahl.

The Clendenin Brass Quintet is a scholarship ensemble funded by the generosity of the Clendenin Family of Boulder, Colorado. Dr. W. Ritchie Clendenin served as the trumpet professor and previous director of the group. He retired in 2002 after a distinguished teaching and performing career at Fresno State spanning 28 years.

Selected by audition, the ensemble has earned reputation for excellence in brass chamber music. The group performs numerous concerts during the year, along with serving in a ceremonial and entertainment capacity on campus and throughout the community.

Tickets: all seats $6

Posted by

The College of Arts and Humanities provides a diverse student population with the communication skills, humanistic values and cultural awareness that form the foundation of scholarship. The college offers intellectual and artistic programs that engage students and faculty and the community in collaboration, dialog and discovery. These programs help preserve, illuminate and nourish the arts and humanities for the campus and for the wider community.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.